Hello everyone that is out there reading this! I am very excited to have this be my VERY FIRST BLOG POST! Well, sort of…back when Xanga used to be a “thing,” I wrote on there consistently for a couple of years, but I was also at a very bad point in my life when I was on there and I said a lot of not so nice things and hurt a lot of people. In stark contrast now, though, I’m looking to bring glory to God through this blog of mine!

So, I know a lot of people wonder why people become pastors and spend their lives in the church. Well, here are some reasons!

First and foremost:

We love God! We have all been radically transformed by Him and want to share this with other people vocationally. Let me back up though and clarify something: WE ARE ALL CALLED TO SHARE OUR FAITH WITH OTHER PEOPLE (Matthew 28:19-20). 

Second:

God has placed this calling on our hearts. I know what you’re thinking: WHAT DOES THAT MEAN?! Well, allow me to explain using my own story of being called to vocational ministry. I got saved in August 2010 and baptized September 5, 2010. Upon being saved, every believer receives the Holy Spirit, who Jesus promised to His disciples (John 14:15-17). When a believer first gives his/her life to Christ, the Holy Spirit can do a lot in you, to you, and through you in a very short amount of time and that’s what happened to me. I devoured the Word and was so excited and on fire for God that it could not be contained! Then I received the call, almost immediately after my baptism. You know what I said, though? “No, Lord. I can’t serve you in ministry. I don’t know the Bible. I don’t know how to lead. I can’t speak in front of our large crowds. I’m really messed up. I hated church for my entire life up until a few months ago. I can’t do this, sorry.”

Yeah, see, things don’t work out like that when it comes to being called. Just look at Moses and Jonah. God doesn’t like excuses or pity parties when it comes to this. There’s a reason you’re being called! So, what happened? Well, I decided to switch my major to Philosophy and pursue a career in academia, perhaps spending my time teaching students about God as a university professor  and writing books. However, the call never left me; in fact, it grew stronger. And then I had a pastor confirm my calling, yet I was still unsure! Finally, I broke down (proverbially) one night and prayed, “God, if you want me to do this, lead me to a college that will teach me how to serve you.” That lead me to Liberty University, where I attended for just a few short years that helped to further educate me in the Word and brought me out of my spiritual shell even further. Hands down, one of the best decisions I have ever made.

Third, and finally:

We literally cannot imagine doing anything else with our lives. There’s a saying I have heard from multiple pastors that goes like this: “If you can imagine yourself doing ANYTHING other than vocational ministry, do it.” Ouch. However, there’s a point to this: ministry is tough. However, it is extremely rewarding when you see the impact God is using you to make on the lives of children, students, or adults in your congregation.

If you want more information about myself or the church, please see the Who Am I? page. Be blessed, friends!

Leave a Reply

